[ Hebrew ]]




Almost all city and town centers in Kenya have a Bank (and occasionally, a Bureau de Change). Sometimes Bureau de Changes (Forex Bureaus) are open longer than the normal banking hours of 0900hrs to 1500hrs, Monday to Friday. Most Banks are also open on Saturdays from of 0900hrs to 1100hrs. There are also 24-hour banking facilities (including ATMs) in the two main international airports in Kenya.

Currency and currency regulations

The Kenyan currency is based on the decimal system. The unit of currency is the Kenya Shilling (Ksh.), divided into 100 cents. Coins are denominated in 5, 10, and 50 cents and I, 5, 10, 20 and 40 shillings while notes are 20, 50, 100, 200, 500 and 1,000 shillings.

Note: Kenya is currently in the process of phasing out the cents.

Visitors are advised to exchange currency only at banks, authorized hotels or at Forex Bureaus. It is also advisable to avoid “street dealer” who may dupe the visitor with fake Kenya money. Prior to leaving Kenya, the visitor may need to exchange the surplus Kenya shillings and banks, hotels or Forex Bureaus may wish to see the original receipts issued when foreign currency was exchanged for Kenyan shillings.

Credit Cards: Most international Credit Cards and Travellers cheques are accepted in Kenya.

Note: It is illegal to deface or destroy Kenyan currency. The offence carries the possibility of a fine and a prison sentence.


Home Page | Contact Us | Privacy Policy     

 ©  Kenya Embasy-Tel Aviv.  All Rights Reserved