[ Hebrew ]]

Official Name: Republic of Kenya

Surface area: 591, 383 sq kilometers. Only 7% of the land is Arable

Type of Government: Kenya is a Multiparty democracy.
From 2008, the current government is being run as a Coalition.

Independence: Kenya attained internal self-rule on
1st June, 1963 and attained independence on  12th December, 1963 from Britain.

Presidents: Jomo Kenyatta (1964-1978), Daniel Toroitich Arap Moi (1978-2002), Mwai Kibaki (2002 to Present).

Elections: Under the New Constitution promulgated on 27th August, 2010, Presidential, Senate, Parliamentary, County and Civic Elections are to be held through secret ballot every five (5) years.

State and Religion: There is no State religion in Kenya.

Suffrage: 18 years

Population: 38.5 Million with growth rate of 2.7 % p.a. (2009 Census).

Language: Kiswahili (national & official) and English (official) and numerous local languages. There are also other numerous (over 40) indigenous languages of the people of Kenya.

Capital city: Nairobi

Other Cities: Mombasa and Kisumu

Major towns: Nakuru, Eldoret, Nyeri, Embu, Meru, Thika and Kakamega.

Economy: Current GDP growth is 4.5%.

Currency: Kenya Shilling (KES)

Investment Guarantees: The Constitution provides guarantee against expropriation of private property. Kenya is a signatory to MIGA and member of the International Council for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID) and Africa Trade Insurance Agency (ATIA).

Main International Airports: Kenya has 4 international Airports. These are Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, Moi International Airport Mombasa, Eldoret International Airport, and Kisumu International Airport. Wilson Airport in Nairobi handles light aircrafts and other scheduled and chartered domestic flights. There are also more than 150 other airports and airstrips across the country.

Seaports: Mombasa is the principal Seaport of Kenya and hosts one of the most modern sea ports in Africa. It has 21 berths, 2 bulk oil jetties and dry bulk wharves. The port can handle many sizes of ships and all types of cargo. Plans are underway to construct a new sea port at Lamu to be situated at Magogoni, following the commissioning of the multi-billion dollar Lamu Port South Sudan Ethiopia Transport Corridor (LAPSSET) project by the Presidents of Kenya, South Sudan and the Prime Minister of Ethiopia on 6th March, 2012.

Roads: There is an extensive road network connecting most parts of the country. All weather roads connect major commercial centers. Currently, there are 3,755 kilometers of Class A Roads in Kenya.

Railways: Kenya is served by a single-track railway system running from Mombasa through Nairobi to Uganda with branches to Nanyuki, Kitale and Kisumu. Both the Kenyan and Ugandan sections of the railway are under concession to a private firm-the Rift Valley Railways. A new standard gauge railway linking Kenya to Ethiopia and Southern Sudan is planned under the LAPSSET Corridor project.  
Industry: Small scale manufacturing of consumer goods, agro-processing, oil refinery, chemicals, cement, tourism etc.

Agriculture: The main products include: Tea, coffee, maize, wheat, sugar-cane and fruits & vegetables, dairy products, beef, pork, eggs, sisal, horticultural products.

Main exports: Tea, coffee, horticultural products, fish, cement, petroleum products, precious stones, live animals. The leading destination for Kenya's exports is Africa, especially the East Africa Community (EAC) and COMESA and the European Union (EU).

Main imports: Industrial machinery, crude petroleum, motor vehicles and transport equipment, minerals, iron and steel, chemicals, food and manufactured goods. The United Arab Emirates (UAE) India and China are the largest exporters of goods to Kenya.

Tourism: It forms a source of Kenya’s foreign currency, only second to Tea and recently to Diaspora remittances.

International and Regional Membership: Kenya is a member of the United Nations (UN), African Union (AU), East African Community (EAC), Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), the African Caribbean Pacific (ACP), Non-Aligned Movement (NAM), and the World Trade Organization (WTO) among others.

Kenya hosts the only Headquarters of the UN in the developing world, the UN office in Nairobi (UNON) and plays host to the Headquarters of both the UNEP and HABITAT. It also hosts numerous other international and regional institutions including International NGO Agencies including World Bank, IMF, IFC, WHO, UNDP, UNHCR, UNESCO, East African Development Bank (EADB), East and Southern African Trade and Development Bank (PTA Bank), COMESA, EAC, NEPAD and the AU.


Home Page | Contact Us | Privacy Policy     

 ©  Kenya Embasy-Tel Aviv.  All Rights Reserved